The first stage of recovery is to admit to the problem. Hi, my name is Mel and I’m addicted to ….

I am not known for my patience.
The only thing I am remotely patience about is baking.
That’s it.
That is all you are getting.
Pish. Don’t look at me like that. I bake you things. Hmph.

On Thursday, as you might recall, I had 1 lab report and 1 assignment due.
I had not baked since Sunday.
The baking urge was there and making its self known.
Boy, was it making its self known.

You see, I am an addict.
I am addicted to baking.
Baking is to me what breathing is to normal people.

On 9pm on Thursday I said  bugger off! to my unfinished assignment* and then preceded to bake.

IT. WAS. GLORIOUS.

I ended up making a quick and easy peach slice.
Which leads me to today.
It’s Sunday here in NZ.
I have 1 assignment due and a in class test tomorrow.

What did I do today?
BAKE!

Though, I deem it to be more slightly acceptable because I was actually baking for a baking order so I had to bake.

Now? I smell like cookies. Is it wrong that I am so so tempted to nibble on my hand?
Oh so, so tempted to nibble my hands.

I baked 50 cookies. 50 OF THEM. I am a cookie machine! Do cookie machines still get to have an achy back from baking too much? Mel does. D: Actually my back has been achy for a while.


I think next time I make cookies I’m going to use a different recipe.

I gave Karl half of one to try and he said that the cookies were a tad dry, not really dry but dry enough that he noticed.
So! Next time I make cookies I will change the recipe.

The only question is to what?

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

Peach slice- (Original Recipe. Adapted by Mel.)

200g butter cubed.
1/2 cup castor sugar.
2 cups self-raising flour.
1 egg beaten.
1-2 tablespoon milk.
410g canned peaches and/or chopped peaches.
1/2 cup (ish) Juice and/or canned peach syrup.
Raw Sugar.

Preheat oven to 190°C or 374°F.

Place the butter into a bowl with the self-raising flour. Rub the butter in so the mixture resembles breadcrumbs and has no obvious butter lumps.

Add the egg and the milk into the butter-flour mixture. Mix together to form a dough.

Pack 2/3 of the dough mixture into a baking paper lined square (or similar) tin.
Place the peaches and the juice on top of the packed down dough mixture.
(The more juice and peaches you have, the more ‘moist’ it will be. Careful though, too much and the base won’t cook.)
Dot the remaining pastry on top.
Sprinkle raw sugar on top of the topping. This will give a bit more crunch.

Whack it into the oven for 20mins or until as ‘brown’ as you like it.
After it’s cooked, cut it up and sieve some icing sugar on the top if you wish.
The alternative is to not bother cutting it up, dollop some ice cream on top and just eat it straight out of the pan.
You know, that works too.

And now? I really should study.

Bugger.

xo Mel.

*I did actually end up finishing my assignment. I got stuck on the last question and then the lecture told us in the lecture when it was due, not to bother about the last question because we hadn’t covered it in class! I then decided to think about jellyfish to spite him. I don’t think he noticed.

About kamaness

Hi! I'm Mel. I run Kamaness with my two siblings Karl and Ness. Not that they post. It's pretty much just me talking about myself to myself.
This entry was posted in Food, Pondering thoughts., Whatcha Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The first stage of recovery is to admit to the problem. Hi, my name is Mel and I’m addicted to ….

  1. you know, every time I check your blog I find a new recipe to try. It’s not right! I don’t have the time to make all this tasty stuff! by the way, the cake looks delicious :)

    • kamaness says:

      Believe me, I don’t have enough time to make of these yummy things either.
      But alas! Baking’s siren call is my Achilles’ heel. So mostly me buggering off assignments happens a few times.

      Thanks! It’s actually super super quick to make. 10-20 mins making time?

  2. Colie says:

    Hi Mel,
    I passed along a blog award to Kamaness…go get it at http://www.thecoliechronicles.com and then let the random Mel-ness begin!!!
    Colie
    PS: That peach slice! OH.MY.GOODNESS. Looks like heaven.

Leave a Reply

