Caramel swirl.

Heyhey,
Mel here.  (As per usual.)
I’ve been in a baking funk lately or should I say depression is kicking my arse and I’m woefully unmotivated. I haven’t even been stickering my books which is just plain horrifying because being a sticker queen rocks.

So when mum mentioned that she bought Zucchinis’ for me to bake with. I went “Ooooooo~ Cupcake time!”  and I rushed off to google to see what recipe that it coughed up.

3 eggs
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 orange juice
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 1/2 cup flour
2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 1/2 shredded zucchini + juice

In a large bowl beat eggs sugar, oil, orange juice and almond extract.

Combine dry ingredients and gradually add to the egg mixture and mix well.
Stir in Zucchini and the juice.

Fill paper-lined muffin ups 2/3 full. Bake at 176 degrees celsius for 20-25 mins.

Note- when you grate the zucchini there should be some ‘juice’ when you finish grating. Add this to the mixture as without it I found that the cupcakes were a tad too dry for my liking.

There was a slight mishap with the icing that I created. It was a caramel frosting and I didn’t let it boil enough, the consequence of that was the icing was too runny. Even with a night spent in the fridge.

See? Runny icing. A rather big bother for me. Considering that it was 2 cups of icing sugar in it as well.

Even with an addition of more icing sugar which you can see in the first picture, it’s still a tad too runny for my liking.

Exciting news! One of my very best friends, Syill, is staying the night tonight and what does this mean for you? More baking posts! W00t!

(http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Zucchini-Cupcakes)

xo Mel.

About kamaness

Hi! I'm Mel. I run Kamaness with my two siblings Karl and Ness. Not that they post. It's pretty much just me talking about myself to myself.
This entry was posted in Food, Pondering thoughts., Whatcha Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

