Of which that is promised. [Food]

Tada!
Do you remember this ?
Of course you do!

Did I actually get around to telling you what on earth it is? Yes? No? I honestly don’t remember but lucky for you I shall tell you again.
It is a sponge ontop of fruit.
This recipe is perfect perfect perfect for any left over fruit that you have. and simply don’t know what to do with them.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour
4 tbspn sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
4 tbspn butter
4 tbspn milk
Spices of your choice. (Cinnamon, nutmeg etc.)

Cream butter and sugar in a bowl.
Add the beaten eggs
Stir in shifted flour, baking powder, spices and milk to form the batter.
Place fruit of your choice at the bottom of a greased baking dish. Pour the batter over the fruit.
Put in a 200 degrees Celcius oven for 45 mins or until golden brown.

Note-

  • The sponge really really does spread when baked, I found that in order to make it a little less dry, to add some fruit juice to the fruits. eg – the fruit juice liquid in which canned fruits come with.
  • Another awesome idea is to stew the fruits in some cold water (Just enough to cover them.), about 1/4 cup of sugar and a tsp of cornflour. Whack that over the stove element and W00t! a delicious idea has come to fruition.
  • I recommend the use of the spices to add a little sometime to the sponge. I didn’t and I found that the sponge was a little bland by it’s own which leads me to my next point.
  • Also! Don’t be afraid to add lots and lots of fruit at the bottom of the greased dish.

YUM! That white stuff ontop? Unsweeten yoghurt. It goes really really well it. A slight sour taste to offset the sweetness.

Happy baking!

xo Mel.

About kamaness

Hi! I'm Mel. I run Kamaness with my two siblings Karl and Ness. Not that they post. It's pretty much just me talking about myself to myself.
This entry was posted in Food, Pondering thoughts., Whatcha Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of which that is promised. [Food]

  1. nice pic, looks scrumptious!

    • kamaness says:

      Thanks!
      It so simple to make.
      It only took 10 mins to make. (If you don’t count the cooking time.)
      I think I’m going to end up abusing this recipe and my poor poor family are going to look something vaguely spherical sometimes soon. ;)

      xo Mel.

Leave a Reply

