A way to fix anything. Really, anything. Aka macarons pt2.

Heyhey.

So, dad’s operation went well and so I’m at home looking after him with Karl. I decided that this was the perfect time to set out and conquer the force that is know as Baking Macarons

Oh how smug I was because my previous experiments with macarons ended in VICTORY!
This time, this time.

I lost the battle.

I did however win the “THEY HAVE FEET BATTLE!?!?” …They are just a little bit spread out. A lot spread out, they look like what I feel like after running. Total and utter blah.

Eggs! I don’t actually eat eggs on their own. I can’t stand the freshly cooked egg smell. However, as long as I can’t taste the eggy smell I’m fine. Yes, on the right is two whole cups of egg whites.

Pipping accident! ….I know, I’ve already gotten slightly bored of my nails and have silvered them up.

They look so perfect. Okay, so they aren’t perfectlyperfectly round but they are close enough. It was a downhill battle from here. (Damn macarons giving me false hope!)

!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!?!?1oneone!!1111!!!!tree!?!?2323!?!?!WHAT?!

The second half of the batch wasn’t much better either.

DON’T WORRY! THERE IS A WAY TO FIX THIS!

Smother everything in chocolate.
It works too, every time.
After all, pratically everything tastes better covered in chocolate sauce. (Apart from chicken feet and camels. Though, I haven’t tried that particular combination yet. )

As you can see by the above (and slightly funny picture of me).

THE PROBLEMS

Well first off they were hollow inside. I’m not entirely sure why but I do know where I went wrong.

Mistake number 1. I used fresh egg whites. My last few batches I left the egg whites sitting for at least 24hours.

Mistake number 2. I added the lemon essence straight into the almond meal + icing sugar mix. I have recently read that you should stir in the essence into the egg whites just after you beat it to the right consistancy and then add the egg whites to the dry mixture.

Mistake number 3. I didn’t press the mixture to the side of the bowl 15 times. Okay, this one was purely me. xD

Ackwell. I’ll try the lemon macarons tomorrow.
If they don’t work then I’ll go back to my darling chocolate ones.

Oh! And shopping trip tomorrow. Hopefully this means new shoes to adore my feet!

xo Mel.

About kamaness

Hi! I'm Mel. I run Kamaness with my two siblings Karl and Ness. Not that they post. It's pretty much just me talking about myself to myself.
This entry was posted in Pondering thoughts., Whatcha Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

