Cake!Cake!Cake!

Here is the promised cake that I made mum for her birthday.

Here is the batter. It looks …promising. xD

There is so much batter that actually filled up two cake tins.

Curiously enough I didn’t have a big enough bowl to mix the batter is, so I was reduced to use a very big pot.

Here is a picture of the two cakes sitting side by side.

The bottom of one of the cakes.

This is the filling – It actually tastes really good just on it’s own.

The frosting. There was soooooo much frosting that I had no idea what on earth I was going to do with it all!

So I just put ALL of the frosting on the cake. There were some problems with the icing that I shall address in the bottom of the post.

Mum wants to cut the cake A.S.A.P!

But wait! Says Mel! I need to stick a candle on top!

Looks like the cake won’t last long according to Ness’s face….

I actually had several problems with the cake that made me go… :/
THE PROBLEMS (& solutions) –
The frosting – I made the frosting exactly to the letter and the damn frosting just wasn’t thick enough to set. Solution? Simple, cut down on the cream cheese & butter and add lots more icing sugar! It’s much more annoying to have too thin icing that drips and barely sets than having icing that is difficult to spread.

The filling – When I cut a slice into the cake, the filling was barely even there! So my advice is, when you cut up the strawberries chop them up really really really small. The aim of the game here is to make some sort of jam. The other alternative is to just use prepackaged strawberry jam instead.

Mum’s verdict? The cake may look fancy but she says that Mel made much nicer and better tasting cakes before.

Will Mel make the cake again? Well, perhaps. If I have punnets of strawberries lying around and/or if I need to make a super fancy looking cake. On the whole – no. I like making my yoghurt cake better and it’s lighter in the calorie count.

xo Mel.

About kamaness

Hi! I'm Mel. I run Kamaness with my two siblings Karl and Ness. Not that they post. It's pretty much just me talking about myself to myself.
This entry was posted in Food, Whatcha Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

